This guide is for those who have editorship over a section of the glasgow.anglican.org website – for example to publish on behalf of one of the development teams. Section Editors have the possibility publish and edit pages only within a defined area of the site.
In order to being editing, you will need to log in to your account. From the homepage, click on the “Log in” link near the top-right of the page, and use the username and password you have been provided with. Note that if you also have a role in another site within the glasgow.anglican.org domain (e.g. you maintain a congregation’s website), the user account is common, and logging in to one site will mean that you are logged in to all of them for that browser session.
When you are logged in, you will see the black menu bar, beginning “My sites” at the top of the page. Clicking on the “Diocese of Glasgow & Galloway” will switch you into the editing dashboard. If you manage content on multiple sites, you can switch between them using the drop-down menu from “My Sites”. All of the sites on which you have a role should be visible in that list.
Editing a page
Once logged in, the easiest way to edit a page is to brows to it on the website, then click “Edit Page” text on the menu bar at the top. This text will only appear on pages within the section(s) for which you have been granted editing permissions.
When editing a page, work within the visual editor, which allows simple formatting to be applied. Note that there are two tabs on the rop-right of the editor area, which allow switching between “Visual” and “Text” mode. The latter will cause HTML codes to be displayed for manual editing, and the formatting toolbar will disappear. Unless you know that you need this, switch back to the “Visual” mode if you find yourself in this mode.
When you have finished editing the content, click the “Update” button in the right-hand column to publish your changes on the website.
Creating a new page
When creating a new page as a section editor, you will need to place it within the page hierarchy within an area in which you have permissions to publish. Selecting Page / Add New from the Menu sidebar on the left of the dashboard, or New / Page from the top toolbar in either the dashboard or the website will start the editor with a new page. Be careful that you select to add a new “Page”, and not a new “Post” (which, although it looks similar, is only for blog-style news items.)
At this point you will see that, rather than saying “Publish” or “Update”, the blue button on the right says “Submit for Review”. This means that you do not have permission to publish directly in the part of the page hierarchy where the new page is located – by default at the top level. So it is necessary to move the page to the correct location.
In the right sidebar you will see a section “Placement in Navigation”. Click on “Move page”, which will pop up a hierarchical view, allowing you to position the new page (at this point “(no title)” at the top of the list). The expandable sections make use of “no entry” signs to show where you do, and do not, have permission to publish. Sections can be expanded or collapsed by clicking on them. Pay attention to the level of indent when dragging your page to its place, as this indicates the level within the hierarchy where it will be placed. At each stage, a green or red bar indicates whether you can publish in the place you are currently dragging.
When you are satisfied with the desired location, click “Update Location”. Assuming you chose somewhere where you are allowed to publish, the “Submit for Review” button should now have been replaced by “Publish”.
You can new create the page in the same way as you would edit one (above). When you are ready to publish, click “Publish”, and your new page will be available on the website. From now on, this button will read “Update”, indicating that you are making changes to an existing page, rather than publishing a new one.
Adding an image or other media
To add images to your pages, click on the “Add Media” button, immediately above the editing area. The “Media Library” tab will allow you to use an existing image within the site, or click on the “Upload Files” tab to upload a new image. When you have selected your image, click the “Insert into page” button at the bottom-right.
Controlling access permissions
By default, pages which you create will be visible to all website visitors, regardless of whether they are logged in to the site, or any role or group memberships they may have. It is also possible to restrict access to your content along these lines.
Some content, for example this document and the IT support section, are only relevant to people who have a user account on the website, but aren’t necessarily connected to any specific group. This is the lightest level of access control, and only requires the user to be logged in to an account. This can be achieved within the “Access restrictions” box at the top-right when editing a page. Simply select “logged_in (Registered)” from the list of groups under “Enforce read access”.
Similarly, it is possible to restrict access only to members of a particular group – see the group names in brackets from the drop-down list. By adding more than one group, members of any of the listed groups will be able to access the content.
Be aware that the access control according to group membership is only as good as the membership list. At the moment this is controlled by the records held in the diocesan centre. database, so please ensure that they are informed of any additions to or removals from the group.
Adding a file download list